Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 25, 2010

Acadiana, WM dominate 5A all-state

PelicanPreps: Class 5A All-State PelicanPreps.com: Class 4A All-State

Acadiana High recovered from four forfeits to win the Class 5A state championship. West Monroe won its first 14 games to reach the 5A title game for a third consecutive year.

The success of the two seasons is reflected through the Louisiana Sports Writers Association's Class 5A All-State team, on which Acadiana has four players and West Monroe placed five.

Paul Turner
Chuck Hunter
Evan Tatford
Greg Robinson
Effrem Reed
Cade Dawes
Micah Eugene

WMHS quarterback Paul Turner and defensive lineman Chuck Hunter grabbed the top individual honors. Turner was selected as the Outstanding Offensive player, while Hunter was voted the Outstanding Defensive Player.

Athlete Tyler Cain, defensive lineman James McFarland and linebacker Jonathan Tyson are the other Rebels on the squad selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

St. Thomas More head coach Jim Hightower is the Coach of the Year after leading the Cougars to the semifinal round.

Acadiana, which had to forfeit four games for use of an ineligible player, won seven straight to take the title.

The Wreckin' Rams have four players on the LSWA team -- running back Micah Eugene, offensive linemen, Cade Dawes and Nick Smith, and defensive back Bakari Hollier.

Turner, who missed two games because of injury, ran for 916 yards and 17 touchdowns and threw for 1,245 and 16 touchdowns. Combined with last year, West Monroe won 29 consecutive games before losing 21-14 to Acadiana in the finals.

Dawes and Smith helped pave the way for an Acadiana offense that rushed for 5,425 yards. Eugene gained a significant portion of that, running for 2,031 yards and 25 touchdowns.

Hightower's Cougars were the only team to beat Acadiana on the field, winning 42-17 in Week 5. The Rams avenged the loss with a 31-0 win over St. Thomas More in the semifinals, bringing to a close the Cougars' 13-1 season.

The team's wide receivers are Dhaquille Williams of East St. John (42 catches, 1,069 yards, 19 TDs) and Mark Bridgewater of Hammond (43-1,006, 13 TDs) and the tight end is Evan Tatford of St. Thomas More (21-257, four TDs).

Dawes and Smith are joined on the offensive line by Chet Hebert of Shaw, Greg Robinson of Thibodaux and Jonah Austin of St. Augustine.

Eugene is joined at running back by Dante' Butler of Brother Martin (335 carries, 2,543 yards, 32 TDs) and Effrem Reed of Dutchtown (271-1,926, 32 TDs).

Colby Delahoussaye of New Iberia is the team's place kicker (16 of 21 field goals, 40 of 42 PATs).

Hunter and McFarland are joined on the defensive line by Mickey Johnson of St. Paul's (34 tackles, six tackles for loss, three sacks) and Duvall Jackson of Westgate (90 tackles, 18 tackles for loss, 11 sacks).

Deion Jones of Jesuit (118 tackles, five tackles for loss, two sacks, three blocked kicks), Landon Collins of Dutchtown (102 tackles, 12 tackles for loss, four interceptions) and Ben Taylor of Hahnville (124 tackles, 11 tackles for loss, seven sacks) round out the linebacking corps, while Bobby Dunn of Jesuit (81 tackles, four interceptions), Sam Scofield of St. Thomas More (110 tackles, four interceptions) and James Richardson of Central (56 tackles, eight tackles for loss, five interceptions) round of the secondary.

Ralph Freibert of Jesuit is the punter (40-yard average) and Ronald Lewis of West Jefferson is the kick returner (four kickoff returns for TDs).

First-team Offense

Pos. Player School Ht. Wt. Cl.
WR D'haquille Williams East St. John 6-2 195 Sr.
WR Mark Bridgewater Hammond 6-2 190 Sr.
TE Evan Tatford St. Thomas More 6-5 235 Sr.
OL Chet Hebert Archbishop Shaw 6-3 285 Sr.
OL Greg Robinson Thibodaux 6-5 300 Sr.
OL Cade Dawes Acadiana 5-11 235 Sr.
OL Nick Smith Acadiana 6-4 270 Sr.
OL Jonah Austin St. Augustine 6-7 315 Sr.
QB Paul Turner West Monroe 6-2 187 Sr.
RB Dante' Butler Brother Martin 5-10 205 Sr.
RB Effrem Reed Dutchtown 5-9 185 Sr.
RB Micah Eugene Acadiana 5-11 190 Sr.
PK Colby Delahoussaye New Iberia 5-9 160 Jr.
ATH Tyler Cain West Monroe 5-8 175 Sr.

First-team Defense

Pos. Player School Ht. Wt. Cl.
DL Mickey Johnson St. Paul's 6-2 295 Sr.
DL Chuck Hunter West Monroe 6-0 302 Sr.
DL James McFarland West Monroe 6-2 234 Jr.
DL Duvall Jackson Westgate 6-2 220 Jr.
LB Deion Jones Jesuit 6-1 195 Jr.
LB Landon Collins Dutchtown 6-1 210 Jr.
LB Ben Taylor Hahnville 5-11 195 Sr.
LB Jonathan Tyson West Monroe 6-1 247 Sr.
DB Bobby Dunn Jesuit 6-4 185 Sr.
DB Sam Scofield St. Thomas More 6-2 195 Sr.
DB Bakari Hollier Acadiana 5-10 190 Sr.
DB James Richardson Central 5-10 180 Sr.
KR Ronald Lewis West Jefferson 6-0 180 So.
P Ralph Freibert Jesuit 5-11 175 Jr.
COACH OF THE YEAR: Jim Hightower, St. Thomas More

Honorable mention: Keith Ollison, Acadiana; Jared Foster, Barbe; Trey Quinn, Barbe; Elbert Fulgham, Brother Martin; Jordan Greene, Brother Martin; Jacoby Briscoe, Carencro; Alex Johnson, Carencro; Zack Oliver, Catholic-Baton Rouge; Grant Venable, Catholic-Baton Rouge; James Banks, Chalmette;, Kaleb Blanchard, Denham Springs; Ethan Hutson, Destrehan; Leon Blouin, Dutchtown; Darion Moore, East St. John; Ahmad White, Hahnville; Trey Davis, Higgins; Jarion Walker, Higgins; Jamal Wilson, Higgins; Pat DeVun, Jesuit; Darius Edwards, LaGrange; Aaron Sam, LaGrange; Austin Watts, Central; Chris Dragna, Mandeville; Kendrick Aaron, Natchitoches Central; Chris Mitchell, Natchitoches Central; Jordy Joseph, New Iberia; Blake Lopez, New Iberia; Scottie Williams, New Iberia; Terron Bell, Ouachita; Justin Ginyard Ouachita; Chris Houston, Ouachita; T.J. Kijak, Ouachita; Ladarius Lewis, Ouachita; Ricky McCarthy, Ouachita; Elijah Sullivan, Ouachita; Quentin Wheeler, Ouachita; Jonathan Kinchen, Ponchatoula; Kaleb Muse, Ponchatoula; Lawrence Breaud, Archbishop Shaw; Jonathan Miles, Slidell; Justin Manton, St. Amant; Leonard Fournette Jr., St. Augustine; Terry Lucas, St. Augustine; Renaldo Thomas, St. Augustine; Matt Flores, St. Thomas More; David Laborde, St. Thomas More; Kevin LaBry, St. Thomas More; Brandon Schmidt, St. Thomas More; Paul Jacquillard, St. Paul's; Tyler Tourelle, St. Paul's; Kirby Bonvillain, Terrebonne; Mike Williams, Terrebonne; Shawn Hoye Jr., West Jefferson; Jose Mazier, West Jefferson; Kenneth Proctor, West Jefferson; Ash Aulds, West Monroe; Deano Casola, West Monroe; Jay Hoogland, West Monroe; Michael Hunter, West Monroe; Terrell Lathan, West Monroe; Bubba Reeves, West Monroe; Cade Stone, West Monroe; Cody Stone, West Monroe; Eugene Levingston, Westgate.

Florida State NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos Warchant.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.