Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

February 21, 2006

Young will not throw for NFL scouts

Get the inside scoop on your favorite team:

FORT WORTH, Texas - Vince Young picked up another trophy Monday night, but the star quarterback doesn't plan to pick up any footballs for NFL scouts this week.

Young, the two-time Rose Bowl MVP expected to be among the top three picks in the NFL draft, received the Davey O'Brien Award that goes to the nation's best quarterback. He was named the O'Brien winner in December, weeks before his Texas Longhorns beat Southern California and 2004 Heisman Trophy winner Matt Leinart for the national championship.

Next up is the NFL's scouting combine in Indianapolis later this week, but Young isn't planning to throw or run there.

''Just interview,'' Young said. ''I don't feel like I have to show a lot. I think they understand me, have been watching me for a long time.''

Young's hometown Houston Texans have the first overall pick, but this month they gave quarterback David Carr a three-year contract extension. So Young knows there's a chance he won't play in Houston.

''I won't be disappointed,'' he said. ''The biggest thing is I just want to play football.''

The New Orleans Saints have the second pick. The Tennessee Titans, where Young's close friend and mentor Steve McNair is quarterback, pick third.

Young was 30-2 as a starter at Texas, leading the Longhorns to their first national title in 36 years when he had 467 total yards and three rushing touchdowns in a 41-38 victory over USC in the Rose Bowl. He left Texas as the career leader in total offense (9,167 yards), touchdowns (81) and rushing touchdowns by a quarterback (37).

Hall of Fame quarterback Len Dawson, who received the Davey O'Brien Legends Award during the ceremony, compared what Young is likely to face as a rookie to what new Hall of Famer and former O'Brien winner Troy Aikman did when he first got to the NFL.

Aikman went through a 1-15 rookie season with the Dallas Cowboys, and was 0-11 as the starter. He later led the Cowboys to three Super Bowls in four seasons.

''Maybe he went through what you're about to go through,'' Dawson said. ''You may not be on the greatest team in the world, but set your goals on what you want to accomplish. No doubt you have the ability to do that.''

The only other Longhorns player to win the O'Brien Award was running back Earl Campbell, who received the inaugural award in 1977, when the trophy was given to the best player in the Southwest Conference.

Oklahoma running back Billy Sims (1978) and Baylor linebacker Mike Singletary (1979, 1980) won the award before it changed to recognize the nation's top quarterback.

For more college football coverage, check out collegefootball.rivals.com.

Florida State NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos Warchant.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.